New York law requires an insurance company to provide no-fault benefits if you have been in a New York accident involving a car, truck or bus. Getting this no-fault coverage is not too complicated, but there are certain things you must do.
On this page we offer tips and helpful suggestions to protect your rights for payment of medical bills, lost wages and other expenses. We also provide a form necessary for you to get no-fault benefits.
If you have been in a New York accident, no-fault provides for the payment of benefits for reimbursement of your basic economic loss. Basic economic loss consists of up to $50,000.00 per person for payment of the following:
- All necessary doctor bills
- All necessary hospital bills
- Other health service expenses
- 80% of lost earnings up to $2,000 per month for up to three years following the date of accident
- Up to $25 per day for one year from the date of accident for travel to and from your health service provider
- A $2,000 death benefit payable to the estate of a covered person
Additional benefits may be owed to you if the insurance policy has optional basic economic loss (OBEL) coverage or additional personal injury protection (APIP) coverage.
You must apply for these benefits promptly. You may lose your rights if you do not.
If you have been injured on a bus, no-fault benefits must be paid by your auto insurance company or the auto insurance of a relative who you live with.
Generally, you must submit your no fault form within 30 days or have good reason why you didn’t. You should submit it as soon as possible.
Be sure to list all injuries even if they seem minor. Sometimes injuries that seem minor get worse over time.
Give a BRIEF description of the accident. One sentence, two at the most.
Provide the complete address of your doctor and employer. If you will be receiving lost wages, the no-fault insurance company will send a form to your doctor. The doctor will verify you were injured in the accident. Your employer will confirm your rate of pay. The insurance company must start paying wage benefits when they receive these two forms. If they wait longer than 30 days they can get penalized by New York State.
Sign the form on the three signature lines.
Before sending in your no fault form you should talk to an experienced accident lawyer. This can help in preventing delays. Also, there may be other considerations you are unaware of. For more information complete our contact form or with no obligation call Feroleto Law at (716) 854-0700.